Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Maple-Scented Filling

In my last installment of blabbering about organic pumpkin vs. Libby’s, I will provide a visual that will illustrate everything I’ve been trying to explain.

The organic is on the left, Libby’s is on the right. While the Libby’s is thick, creamy, and orange, the organic pumpkin is watery, grainy, and brown/almost green. If you still choose the organic, that’s your prerogative. And it leaves more Libby’s for me!

Just because I’m done talking about pumpkin doesn’t mean I’m done cooking with it.

I admit I had never heard of a whoopie pie until this past year when I was researching popular foods in Montreal (for work… although I sometimes do that for fun). Since then, I feel like I’ve seen them mentioned all over the place (perhaps because now I’m closer to their origins?) and decided I had to try them for myself. And what better flavor to try first than my favorite?

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
(cookies from Serious Eats, filling adapted from Martha Stewart)

For the cookies:
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 tablespoons cinnamon
1 tablespoon ground ginger
1 tablespoon ground cloves
2 cups packed dark brown sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
3 cups chilled pumpkin puree
2 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla

In a large bowl, whisk the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, ginger, and cloves together and set aside. In a seperate bowl, whisk the brown sugar and oil together until combined. Add pumpkin puree and whisk to combine thoroughly. Add the eggs and vanilla and whisk until combined. Sprinkle the flour mixture over the pumpkin mixture and whisk until completely combined.
Use a cookie scoop to drop heaping tablespoonfuls of dough about one inch apart onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes, until the cookies are just starting to crack on top and a toothpick inserted into the center of the cookie comes out clean. Remove from the oven and let the cookies cool completely on the pan while you make the filling.

For the filling:
1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
1 cup sifted powdered sugar
6 ounces marshmallow fluff (about 3/4 of a jar)
1 tablespoon Grade B maple syrup

Cream together butter and sugar until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes. add fluff and maple syrup and continue mixing until well combined. Refrigerate before using.

Assembling the Whoopie Pies:
Make sure all ingredients are at room temperature or refrigerated. Turn half of the cooled cookies upside down. Use a small cookie scoop or pastry bag to drop a large (~1 tablespoon) dollop of filling onto the flat side of the cookie. Place another cookie, flat side down, on top of the filling. Press down slightly so that the filling spreads to the edges of the cookie. Repeat until all the cookies are used. Put the whoopie pies in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes to firm up before serving.

Yield: about 26 finished Whoopie Pies

I made my own marshmallow fluff using this recipe, because I thought it would be interesting. It was fun to make, but definitely needs some tweaking to get it closer to the stuff in a jar. It was just not very sweet and almost tasted soapy? I didn’t notice the off taste in the final product though.

The amount of maple in the filling could also be increased. You could taste it if you really looked for it, but a little more wouldn’t hurt. Grade B is important because it has a richer maple flavor than the more expensive Grade A stuff. And please, don’t use the fake stuff.

I actually made a half recipe of the cookies twice. The first time everything was at room temperature or slightly warm, and by the time I placed the top on the last pie, most of the tops had slid off their base and made a mess of gooey white filling. I stuck them in the refrigerator and they firmed up fine, but looked pretty sloppy, and most of the filling ended up around the edges instead of between the cookies (the best ones are pictured above). I was making these for Brett to take to work, so I decided I needed to make some prettier ones. I refrigerated the filling and a baking sheet so I would have a cold surface to work on. After the second batch of cookies were finished (they’re really easy to put together!) I let them cool completely, then put them in the fridge for about 5 minutes, just to be safe. These turned out much prettier and worthy of taking to work.

I don’t mind eating the practice batch.

1 Comment

Filed under Baked Goodies, Recipes

One response to “Pumpkin Whoopie Pies with Maple-Scented Filling

  1. Tes

    Wow these pies are so adorable. This seems simple and sounds yummy!
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

