Tomato Sauce

To continue with the theme of having way too many tomatoes and needing a way to convert them into a food that would be consumed by both members of our household, I present you with a recipe for tomato sauce.

I adapted this recipe from a food blog idol of mine, Kath from KathEats. It is her mom’s recipe for tomato sauce that she always raves about, and since I had a million tomatoes to eat, and I recently picked up a bottle of sherry, I figured it was the perfect time to try it out!

I made just a few changes just because of  my lack of pantry-stocking; I didn’t have tomato paste so I substituted a tablespoon of pomodori agrodolci… not really the same but I wanted to add a little dense, cooked tomato flavor and that is what I had. I also didn’t have any sun-dried tomatoes but I think the pomag (my new nickname for the stuff – much easier to say & type) flavor made up for that as well. And I skipped the sugar since the pomag is so sweet on its own.

(Here is the link to Kath’s original recipe, along with much much better pictures of the process!)

Homemade Tomato Sauce

13 roma-size tomatoes, chopped
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 heaping tablespoon pomadori agrodolci (or 1 can tomato paste + 1 teaspoon sugar)
1/4 cup sherry wine
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 handful fresh basil (if you have it)
1 large roasted red pepper, chopped

Saute garlic in a large pan or dutch oven. Add chopped tomatoes and simmer until thickened slightly. Add all other ingredients and simmer for 15 minutes, or until desired consistency is reached. Process in a food processor or with an immersion blender if you want a less rustic sauce. Serve immediately or refrigerate and enjoy within a week.

First, I chopped all of the tomatoes we had. I didn’t count, but it was probably about 10 roma-sized tomatoes and one large heirloom tomato (the purple one!).

The chopped tomatoes with Kath’s recipe in the background – a typical sight in my kitchen.

Next I got the garlic going in some olive oil.

Then I added all the tomatoes to simmer for about 15 minutes.

Then I forgot to take any more pictures until I was done. Here is one to show the consistency of the final sauce.

The sauce and the vessel that made it all possible. I love my Le Creuset French oven. It almost makes cooking on electric bearable.

As with most first-time recipes, it needed a couple tweeks. The flavor was very good, but as with the pomag, I wish I had processed the tomatoes before cooking because the skins rolled up and formed pointy sticks in the sauce. I’m new to cooking tomatoes (I’ve never had so many at once!) so I’m learning as I go. Next time I would definitely add the tomato paste to give it some more body. Also, I would process it after cooking to make it less chunky and more Brett-friendly. We enjoyed this sauce in a yummy eggplant parmesan that I will share the recipe for soon (it is eggplant season!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Sauces & Spreads, Vegan, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

